Montana fishing license is required for fishing in state waters for any species of fish, including bass, catfish, crappie, walleye, and whitefish. If you are fishing on private property, you must obtain a permit from your property owner. Montana has some of the most stringent fishing regulations in the country.
(FWP) regulates the fishing and hunting of all fish and wildlife in all waters within the state. In addition to the regulations listed below, Montana also has a number of other laws and regulations that apply to fishing, hunting and other recreational activities. Click on the links below to learn more about Montana’s fishing laws, regulations and more.
Montana is one of only a few states that regulate the use of bait and tackle. Bait is defined as any material that is used to attract fish to a bait station or to lure fish into a trap or net.
Table of Contents
What does a fishing license cost in Montana?
All three licenses are included in the fees below. Montana residents and non-residents can purchase fishing licenses and passes online at the Montana Department of Fish and Wildlife’s website. You will need to provide your name, address, date of birth, driver’s license number, social security number and proof of Montana residency.
If you do not have any of these documents, you will be required to pay a $5.00 fee to purchase a Montana fishing or hunting license or pass. For more information, please visit the Department’s web site at www.mdfw.mt.gov.
Do I need a fishing license to fish on private property in Montana?
To fish in Montana, most anglers need a Conservation License and a Fishing License, and also an AIS Pass, see table above. You need a fishing license in your possession to fish. If you are caught without your license, you can be fined up to $500.
(MDFW) is responsible for the management of fish and wildlife in the state of Montana. Department’s mission is to protect and enhance Montana’s natural and cultural resources for future generations. For more information, please visit www.mdfw.mt.gov.
What is the fine for fishing without a license in Montana?
The qualifications for a license in the state of residence must be met by the person. A person convicted of a violation of this section will be fined not less than $50 or more than $1,000 and imprisoned for not longer than a year.
Can you fish with worms in Montana?
Live animals such as meal worms, red worms, night crawlers, leeches, maggots, crayfish, reptiles, and insects may be used as bait on all waters not restricted to artificial lures only. FWP-approved sources can be used to import leeches into Montana. (MDFW) is responsible for the management of all fish and wildlife in the state of Montana. The department’s mission is to conserve, protect, and enhance the natural and cultural resources of our state.
Can you fish at night in Montana?
Fishing for bass is the most common type of night fishing in montana. You should be able to locate bass at the same locations they are found during the day. Bass fishing can be done in a variety of ways. The best way to fish is to use a rod and reel, but you can also fish with a fly rod, a line, and a lure.
Do you need a fishing license in Yellowstone?
Anglers 16 years of age or older must be in possession of a valid Yellowstone National Park fishing permit to fish in the park. State fishing licenses are not valid and are not required.
Are paddlefish in Montana?
The paddlefish harvest tag will be sent in the mail prior to the start of the harvest season for the Upper Missouri fishery. Applicants will be required to provide a copy of their Missouri fishing license and proof of residency in Missouri.
Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and must have a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card with a Missouri address. (DNR) is not responsible for the content or accuracy of information on this web site.