A valid fishing license is required for all types of fishing on state waters for anyone 12 or older. A fishing license will allow a person to fish for and possess any fish that is authorized by the state’s fishing regulations. It may not be sold, bartered, or exchanged for cash.
Fishing licenses are valid for one year from the date of issuance. The license may be renewed for an additional one-year period at the discretion of the Department of Fish and Wildlife.
Table of Contents
How much does a Montana fishing license cost?
If you’re a resident of Montana, you have to purchase a standard Conservation License for $8.00 and a $2 Prevention Pass if you’re over the age of 62. The Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks (DFWP) is the agency responsible for managing Montana’s fish and wildlife resources. For more information, visit www.fws.mt.gov.
Where can you get fishing license in Montana?
Montana fishing licenses can be purchased online at the montana fish wildlife and parks online licensing site. Upon arrival, licenses can be purchased at the local offices. The Montana Department of Fish and Wildlife (MDFW) is the state agency responsible for the management of Montana’s fish and wildlife resources. The department’s mission is to conserve, protect, and enhance the health and well-being of all species of wildlife in Montana.
How much does an out of state fishing license cost in Montana?
For an entire season of fishing, a montana fishing license costs $112.50. The total cost of the license is influenced by many different fees. You can see the full breakdown of costs below. Fishing License Renewal Fee (per year): $25.25 the Montana Department of Fish and Wildlife (MDFW) is required to issue a Montana Fishing License to any person who is at least 18 years of age.
The license is valid for one year from the date of issuance and is renewable for another year if the person renews his or her license within the same calendar year. This renewal fee is non-refundable. Non-residents may renew their license at any Montana Fish & Wildlife office or by mail. Renewals must be received by the office within 30 days after the expiration date.
If the renewal is not received, a new license will be issued at no additional cost. For more information on renewing your license, please visit our Renewing Your Montana License page. Fishing Licenses are valid only in the state of Montana and may not be transferred to another state or country. Montana residents may only fish in waters that are open to angling, including lakes, ponds, rivers, and streams.
What is the fine for fishing without a license in Montana?
The qualifications for a license in the state of residence must be met by the person. A person convicted of a violation of this section will be fined not less than $50 or more than $1,000 and will be imprisoned for not less than one year or both.
What is the fishing season in Montana?
The montana fishing season usually runs from march 1st to november 1st. We do occasionally catch trout in the spring and fall in Montana, but these are the prime months for fly fishing. Montana Fly Fishing Regulations: Fly fishing regulations vary from state to state, so check with your state’s Department of Game and Inland Fisheries (DGI) for the most up-to-date rules and regulations in your area.
Is a fishing license required in Glacier National Park?
Seasons and Regulations No fishing license is required to fish inside park boundaries. Bull trout cannot be caught in the park waters.