Before you can fish in the inland waters of Virginia, you have to have a fishing license. For more information, please visit the Department of Natural Resources website.
Where can you fish without a license in Virginia?
They don’t need a license to hunt, trap, or fish within the boundaries of their property if they are a resident or non-resident. (b) Hunting, trapping, and fishing on private property shall be subject to all the provisions of this chapter, except as otherwise provided in this section.
A person who hunts, traps, fishes or otherwise uses the property of another without the permission of the owner or lessee of that property is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed six (6) months or in a jail or house of correction for not less than thirty (30) days.
How much is fishing without a license in Virginia?
Fishing, hunting, or trapping without a license is a class 3 felony and can result in fines of up to $500. Penalties with fines less than $500 are often pre-payable offenses. If you plead guilty to a criminal offense, it cannot be expunged. If you have been convicted of any of these offenses, you may be eligible for a deferred prosecution agreement (DPA).
This agreement allows you to avoid jail time and fines by agreeing to plead guilty or no contest to the offense. If you successfully complete the DPA you will not be required to register as a sex offender and will be allowed to keep your fishing license and hunting license.
Do you need a fishing license to fish on a pier in Virginia?
For fishing on the water, a virginia saltwater fishing license is required, but not required for pier fishing. Virginia saltwater fishing licenses are issued by the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.
How much is a fishing license in Virginia at Walmart?
The regular license cost at walmart is $19 for residents of 16 and older. A flat license cost for single-day fishing is $11 regardless of the resident or non-resident status of the applicants. Senior citizens above 66 years of age can get a discounted license cost. Walmart charges a flat fee for its fishing license. Walmart’s fishing licenses are valid for one year from the date of purchase. They are not transferable or refundable.
How much is a fishing ticket in Virginia?
Resident freshwater licenses cost $23 for one year, $44 for two years, $65 for three years and $86 for four years. Those over the age of 65 can get an annual freshwater fishing permit. A freshwater and saltwater license is $39.50 and a saltwater-only license is also available. For more information, visit the Department of Natural Resources website.
Do you need a fishing license in Virginia to fish in the ocean?
If someone plans to saltwater fish without needing to obtain an FIP number, they will be required to pay a fee of $5.00 per year to the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries (VDGIF) for the privilege of fishing in Virginia waters. Fishermen who do not have a valid Virginia fishing license will not be able to fish in the Commonwealth of Virginia without first obtaining a Virginia Fishing License (VFL).
The VFL is valid for one year from the date of issuance and must be renewed every two years. It is important to note that if a person does not renew their Virginia FFL within the two year period, he or she may be subject to a fine of up to $1,000 for a first offense and $2,500 for each subsequent offense. For more information, please visit www.vdgif.virginia.gov.
Where can I get a VA fishing license?
It is necessary for the hunter’s physician to certify. The license can only be obtained from the CDFW’s License and Permit Division. Hunters must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a hunting license and must have a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card. Hunters must also be able to read and write in English or Spanish.