Residents and non- residents are required to have a valid fishing license in order to fish in freshwater. (FWC) regulations require that all fish caught in Florida must be tagged with a unique identification number.
The tag must remain on the fish for at least one year after the date of capture. If the tag is lost or stolen, the owner must report the loss or theft to the FWC by calling 1-888-FWCC-TIGER or by sending an e-mail to email@example.com.
Table of Contents
Who does not need a fishing license in Florida?
The exemptions that apply most frequently: Any angler (resident or non-resident) under the age of 16 does not need a fishing license, and Florida residents who are 65 or older do not need a fishing license. If you don’t need a fishing license, you also don’t need a snook permit.
How much is fishing without a license in Florida?
If you don’t have a license, fishing without one is a non-criminal offense that will cost you an additional $50. If you are charged more than once within a 36 month period, the penalty fine increases to $100. Fishing with a rod and reel is legal in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
However, it is illegal to fish with any type of rod or reel unless you have a fishing license. If you don’t have the proper license, you can be fined and/or jailed for up to a year.
How can I get a free fishing license in Florida?
Florida residents receiving benefits or food stamps can do land-based saltwater fishing without a license. Florida resident can get a free shoreline fishing license, which allows them to fish for saltwater species from land or from structures such as docks, canoes, and kayaks.
(FWC) is the state agency responsible for regulating fishing in Florida waters. You can find out more about Florida fishing laws and regulations by visiting the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) website.
Do you need a fishing license to fish saltwater in Florida?
Valid for fishing from the shoreline or a structure on the shore. Not valid when fishing from a boat or a shoreline. Licenses are issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) and can be purchased at any FWC office or online at www.floridafishandwildlife.org.
Can you fish in a nature preserve in Florida?
Hunting and trapping are permitted only in designated areas. Hunting is prohibited in all other areas of the preserve. Trappers must be at least 18 years of age and must possess a valid hunting license. The permit is valid for one year from the date of issuance and may be renewed for an additional one-year period at any time. All permits are issued on a first-come-first-serve basis.
No permits will be issued to persons under the age of 18. Persons under 18 must have a parent or legal guardian present at all times when hunting or trapping. A valid license is required to hunt and/or trap in this area. For more information, please visit our Hunting Regulations page.