Any angler 16 or older needs a valid license to go fishing in Colorado. Residents and non-residents of Colorado both need to have one, but the available options are different for both groups. A person who has lived in Colorado for more than 6 months is a resident of the state.
Non-resident residents are those who have moved to CO from another state or country. If you are a Colorado resident, you can apply for a fishing license online at the Colorado Department of Fish and Game’s website. The guide will help you find the right license for you and answer any questions you may have.
Table of Contents
How much is fishing without a license in Colorado?
license. You will plead guilty to the ticket if you pay the fine. If you plead guilty to fishing without a license and pay a $50 fine, you can also serve ten hours of community service. If you do not have a fishing license, it is illegal for you to fish in any of the state’s waters.
Do you need a fishing license in Colorado State Parks?
Commission recently adopted a rule change, requiring all visitors 18 or older to possess a valid hunting or fishing license to access any State Wildlife Area or State Trust Land leased by Colorado Parks and Wildlife. July 1, the new rule will take effect.
The new hunting and fishing licenses are valid for one year from the date of issuance, and must be displayed on the person’s person at all times while hunting, fishing, or in any other way interacting with wildlife. The new rules also prohibit the possession of any firearm, bow, crossbow, muzzleloader, air rifle, shotgun, rifle or shotgun with a barrel less than 16 inches in length or any air gun or air pistol.
Violation of these rules may result in a fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 30 days.
How much is a fishing license at Walmart in Colorado?
The regular license cost at walmart is $19 for residents of 16 and older. A flat license cost for single-day fishing is $11 regardless of the resident or non-resident status of the applicants. Senior citizens above 66 years of age can get a discounted license cost. Walmart charges a flat fee for its fishing license. Walmart’s fishing licenses are valid for one year from the date of purchase. They are not transferable or refundable.
Do I need an extra rod stamp Colorado?
Any person under 16 years of age who is not required to have a fishing license must have a second rod stamp with their signature in possession in order to use a rod and reel.
What’s the limit on trout in Colorado?
The minimum size for trout is 16 inches or less in length and the bag and possession limit is 2 fish.
No person shall take, sell, offer for sale, or offer to sell any trout or any other species of fish for the purpose of taking, selling, offering for sell or offering to buy any fish of the species listed in this section unless the person has a valid fishing license issued by the Department of Fish and Wildlife.
A person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not more than one thousand dollars or imprisoned in the county jail for a period not to exceed one year or by both such fine and imprisonment.
This subsection does not apply to the taking of trout by anglers who are licensed to do so under the laws of another state or country.
Does Colorado have a lifetime fishing license?
Colorado resident who has a total and permanent disability may obtain, free of charge, a Lifetime Fishing License. Lifetime fishing license holders don’t have to purchase a Habitat Stamp every year. For more information, please visit the Colorado Department of Fish and Wildlife website.
What is the extra rod stamp for Colorado fishing license?
Children under the age of 16 don’t need a license, while teens over the age of 17 can get a license for $10.07. Retailers that sell licenses can be found on the internet or by phone. Everyone is in tight lines.