South Carolina requires a license to fish from the surf, even though you can fish on the beach. No license is needed to fish from a boat. South Carolina does not allow the use of baitfish in the state’s waters.
Table of Contents
Do you need a fishing license to fish in the ocean in South Carolina?
All people over the age of 16 are required to have a fishing license in the state of South Carolina. A Saltwater Fishing License is required when harvesting marine resources, including, but not limited to, saltwater fish.
A person must be at least 16 years of age and have a valid driver’s license or non-driver identification card issued by the United States Department of Transportation (DOT) to fish in the waters of the State. The license holder must also be able to read, write, and understand the English language.
If a person does not meet these requirements, he or she will not be eligible for the license.
How do I get a fishing license in Myrtle Beach SC?
All people over the age of 16 need a fishing license in South Carolina. All permits and licenses can be purchased on the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources website at www.dnr.sc.gov. If you are a resident of the state, you can check your permit status online at fish.state.s.us.
How much does it cost to fish off the pier at Myrtle Beach?
Three miles south of Myrtle Beach on U.S. 17 lies the Myrtle Beach State Park Pier.
Free to walk on the pier with paid park admission; fishing pass is $4 plus a $20 deposit. The South Carolina Department of Natural Resources (SCDNR) is the state agency responsible for the management of state-owned lands and waters.
The agency’s mission is to conserve, protect, and enhance the natural and cultural resources of the State and to promote the health and well-being of all South Carolinians.
What can I fish in Myrtle Beach?
Sea trout, flounder, redfish, bluefish, pompano, spanish mackerel, whiting, sea bass, sheapshead, and black drum and king mackerel are some of the popular species. The park is open daily from sunrise to sunset. For more information, visit www.myrtlebeachstateparks.com. Pinellas County Park in St. Petersburg is a great place to take a dip in the Gulf of Mexico. It’s a popular spot for boating, fishing, swimming, picnicking, hiking, biking, horseback riding and more.
Admission is free, but you’ll need to bring your own fishing rod and tackle. You can also rent kayaks and canoes from the park for $10 per day or $25 per week. Turn right at the first traffic light and follow the signs for the parking lot.
What is the fine for fishing in South Carolina without a license?
A person convicted of violating this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not less than fifty nor more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not longer than one year, or both. (b) A person who violates subsection (a) is subject to a civil penalty of up to one thousand dollars for a first violation and not to exceed two thousand fifty dollars per violation for each subsequent violation.
The court may order the person to perform community service or to pay a fine in an amount that the court determines is reasonable and necessary to remedy the violation, including, but not limited to, restitution to the victim of the offense, a reasonable attorney’s fee, court costs, and any other costs or fees that may be incurred in the enforcement of this chapter.
If a person is found to have violated this subsection, the department may suspend or revoke the driver’s license or nonresident operating privilege of that person for the period of suspension or revocation.
Can I get a SC fishing license at Walmart?
It is possible to get a fishing license from a Walmart store if it has a sports and outdoors section. A Walmart fishing license is the same as one issued by the state. You have the same rights and privileges on the water as you would at a state park. If you’re going to go fishing, make sure you have the proper equipment and know how to use it.
What fish is biting at Myrtle Beach?
Juvenile whiting, croakers, silver perch and red and black drum fish are among the varieties that are biting this time of year. Shrimp, crab, and squid are some of the most popular bait choices. The best times to catch fish are before sunrise and after sunset.
Can you fish on the beach in North Myrtle Beach?
You can enjoy the best inshore, offshore, artificial reef, deep sea, or shallow water fishing at the three popular piers in North Myrtle Beach. The best time to fish for largemouth bass is during the spring and summer months, when the water temperatures are warm and the fish are plentiful.
The best times to catch bass are in the early morning and late afternoon hours, which is when most of the fishing is taking place. If you are looking for a great day of fishing for bass, you will want to head out to the beach at least once a week for the next few months.
Do you need a fishing license to fish off a pier in North Carolina?
A fishing license is required to fish on the Outer Banks. Children under 16 are exempt. An individual does not need a license for charter boat and pier fishing, which are covered by a blanket license. Size and species limits are included in the current marine fisheries regulations.