All anglers 15 and older must hold a West Virginia fishing license. People over the age of 18 may need a stamp. A stamp is also needed by trout fishermen. You can purchase your license at a retail license agent, over the phone, or online at the WV Department of Game and Inland Fisheries website.
Table of Contents
Can you fish in WV without a license?
WEST VIRGINIA FISHING LICENSE INFORMATION All anglers age 15 and older are required to have a fishing license and a valid form of photo identification in order to fish in the state of West Virginia. Anglers under the age of 15 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who is at least 18 years of age.
The license is valid for one (1) year from the date of issuance and may be renewed for an additional two (2) years at the discretion of the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. For more information, please visit www.westvirginia.gov/fishing/license.htm.
WYOMING FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT COMMISSION The Wyoming Fish and Wildlife Management Commission (FWMC) is responsible for the management of fish and wildlife in Wyoming, including the regulation of fishing, hunting, trapping, and other activities that affect the health and well-being of Wyoming’s natural resources. In addition, the FWC administers a variety of other programs to promote the conservation of wildlife and the enjoyment of recreational opportunities for Wyoming residents and visitors.
To learn more about the programs and services offered by the Commission, visit the Wyoming Wildlife Resources website at http://www.wyo.
How many trout can you keep in WV?
The daily creel limit is six trout in aggregate and the possession limit is 12 trout in aggregate, except in the case of rainbow and golden rainbow trout, which may be possessed by the holder of a valid fishing license. These codes may not be the most recent version.
Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the info linked to on the state site.
What is the fine for fishing without a license in WV?
These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the info linked to on the state site.
When can you fish in WV?
The West Virginia Division of Natural Resources has fishing regulations. Spring Turkey (bearded only) April 18-May 22. March 1st to 31st, the BEACON istrapping. January 1-April 30 is the hunting season. The following wildlife management areas are open to the public during the seasons listed below.
Please note that these areas may be closed due to inclement weather or other unforeseen circumstances. This area is open year-round for coyote hunting.
How much is a 1 day fishing license in West Virginia?
Non-residents can get a $3 one-day license from west virginia. State residents have always been required to purchase a day-use license. The new law, which goes into effect on July 1, will allow nonresidents to take up to three days of fishing in a single day without having to pay a license fee, according to a news release from the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.
Do I need a trout stamp in WV?
To catch trout in West Virginia, anglers must have a fishing license with a current trout stamp. A valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, passport, military ID card, or U.S. passport, is required for all anglers over the age of 15.
Fishing in the state is regulated by the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and the Division of Fish and Wildlife (DFW). The DNR and DFW are responsible for the management of all fish and wildlife, including the regulation of fishing and fishing gear. For more information on fishing regulations, please visit the website at www.dnr.state.va.us/fishing.